Facebook ad campaigns can be especially stressful if you have accumulated a significant number of ads and ad sets. Managing them all and making the right calls for different scenarios becomes both difficult and time-consuming. Automation does away with the constant need to monitor your metrics and ensure that everything runs smoothly. You get to save time and still get to enjoy an impressive ROI. All this is possible with Facebook Ad Automation. Let us have a look at what it entails and how you can get the most from it.
What are Facebook Automated Ads?
It is an advertising tool accessible to every Facebook business. It is a free aid that allows you to build automation plans that execute an action automatically once particular requirements have been met. The requirements in your automated Ads are constantly running and monitored to assist in managing Facebook Ads.
The Facebook Ad system was launched in 2007 and allowed businesses throughout the platform to connect with customers and customize advertising precisely to their target audiences. Customers could discover businesses, products, and brands easily by following reliable recommendations from their Facebook friends. This was a phenomenal feature but it had one limitation: The ad system demanded constant time and resources by the marketer for monitoring and social media optimization.
2019 saw the coming to life of a comprehensive remedy to this challenge. Facebook announced a new feature to help small businesses meet their advertising goals on Instagram and Facebook. That is how automated Ads came to fruition. Users can create an advertising plan that suits their business needs and set that plan into motion through automation.
Why Use FB Ads Automation?
The recent updates to Facebook and Instagram algorithms have significantly reduced the time users spend in the news feed, necessitating stronger strategies by Facebook advertisers to pique users’ interest. This has resulted in high CPMs that have made it even more difficult for advertisers to reach their intended cost per click.
As such, the allocation of funds towards the Ad budget needs to be done efficiently. That means implementing the following steps:
• Launching new Ad sets as often as possible
• Pausing Ad sets that are underperforming
• Adjusting bids and budgets
• Duplicating Ads and Ad sets
Most of these tasks can be implemented automatically with the use of automated Ads.
You no longer have to monitor your Ads every hour and execute time-consuming tasks. Facebook Ads automation will launch, pause, and restart your advertisements to allow you to scale your campaigns competently and successfully.
This Ad automation feature is most efficient for its ability to spot necessary actions and implement them faster than an advertiser can on their own.
It is essential to consider what information you regularly seek in your Ads Manager and the steps you take from those observations. For instance, you could think about the following questions:
• Do you discontinue Ad sets when they reach a certain spend without conversions?
• Do you raise the budget for your Ad set depending on the ROAS?
• Do you raise your bid if there is low delivery?
• Do you reproduce Ad sets if there is good performance?
Running an Ad campaign of any degree requires frequent management and monitoring. As such, it is easy to lose out on opportunities and even lose money if you are an avid Facebook advertiser who hasn’t embraced automated Ads.
Who and When Should Use Facebook Automated Rules?
All Facebook advertisers can gain from using automated rules irrespective of whether you want to increase your budget or intend to maintain your current spending.
Automated Ads are especially beneficial for people who want to scale their Ads. This mostly involves modifying your tactics and strategies according to the changes in the Instagram program and Facebook Ads Manager while changing your Ad creatives to build competent campaigns and avoid overusing Ads that are already in place.
You can create automation rules to help you deactivate Ad sets that are underperforming and raising budgets for those that are doing well so you can try out new creatives and target audiences you have come across on your Audience Insights.
Similarly, if you are spending a significantly large amount of money on Facebook ads every month, using automated Rules will certainly help you implement quicker changes to control your spend wastage, improve ROAS and save time. However, to maneuver Facebook automation successfully, you need to be conversant with the manual management of Facebook Ads. It is the most practicable method of scaling your Ad campaign without adding to your team.
How to Use Facebook Ads Automation in Your Strategy
Setting up your account for automated Ads is as simple as following these steps:
• Log in to Facebook Business Manager and head over to your page.
• Click on the Notifications button and then select the Get Started button on your left-hand side
• You will be led to answer several questions about the type of Ad account you would like to use and more intense questions about the goals of your business. There may not be a specific category describing your exact line of business: if this is the case, just select the most accurate option.
• Next, you choose your Ads plan. The custom plan comprises a proposed budget, estimated clicks and impressions, and a call to action. On to the second stage!
• You will be directed to a preview display that shows images from the posts on your organic page. Facebook provides a wide range of settings and options to help you customize your plan.
Nothing is cut and dry at this point. You are free to replace the selected images or keep them. The photos need to be sorted in your preferred order before you can move on to other tasks such as building headlines, establishing Ad copy, recording your ultimate URL, and designing the call to action option.
Picking an audience is arguably the most essential part of setting up your account. Automated Ads are originally programmed to target users who visit your website and similar based audiences. One can get more specific optimization options based on age, location, and interests.
You can also build an audience of your own by clicking on Customer Audiences. This option lets you choose from your collection of custom audiences which are in the Ad account you selected when getting started. Additionally, you can choose to use saved audiences or build an entirely new one.
Once everything is defined clearly, Facebook proposes several budgets. You can pick out your Pixel and run a final evaluation of the campaign you are about to activate.
Understanding the Fundamentals of Your Funnel
The buyer's journey is comprised of three vital steps that you need to familiarize yourself with as a marketer and entrepreneur. These are awareness, consideration, and decision stages. These should guide you in creating the right audiences for your product and provide a better overall automated experience.
Customers in this stage understand that they have a problem but aren’t actively searching for a solution just yet. You can target a broader audience to capture their attention and funnel them through the audience levels.
You can get started by visiting the Business Manager on Facebook and heading over to your dashboard. Under Assets, click on Audiences.
Next, click on Create Audience.
You are free to choose either option depending on the growth and development of your enterprise and whether you already have custom audiences.
If your business has a significant number of clients or an existing custom audience, you can select the Lookalike Audience option. It will match the custom audience already in place.
You can choose a Saved Audience if you cannot use the Lookalike option. This audience focuses more on quantity than targeting. You can take the users it brings your way and guides them through the funnel.
Your screen will look like this once you select the Saved Audience option:
Proceed to name your audience and input the general demographics of your ideal customers such as gender, age, and language. Once these are in place, you can start narrowing down your audience by using interests and lifestyle.
Be sure to choose interests that resonate with your product or service.
Go on to exclude the people you think aren’t interested in your products from seeing your ad. You need to be especially keen at this stage to avoid locking yourself out of potentially beneficial audiences.
Next, you need to select the size of your audience. Go for a potential reach between 500,000 and 700,000 people.
This range is realistic and allows you to target a wide audience without spending too much money or risking wastage.
Here, the buyer has already begun looking for solutions to their need or problem. They are looking at various sellers to see who is best suited to help them.
You want to open a new Custom Audience. There are multiple options to choose from.
Facebook Source or Website Traffic is by far the best option on the above list. The consideration audience sends more Ads to users as they move in the funnel.
You can select Facebook Source to target users that are already interacting with your page and showing interest in your products.
Each setting you choose should be based on the users you gathered from the Awareness audience and how they are interacting with your audience.
Make sure you name your audience and choose 365 days so you can keep funneling users.
This is where you close the deal. You should only target users who have moved down your funnel from the start. These users are aware of your products and ready to purchase.
Create a new custom audience and select "people who visited specific web pages".
All that is left is creating specific ads for each stage so you can move them through your funnel automatically and successfully.
How Can Automation Help You Scale?
You can automatically scale the ad sets you to feel are performing the best both vertically and horizontally. Once you have set up an automated rule complete with its conditions, the rule will be implemented when those conditions are met without fail.
If your ad spends over $100 without purchases, you can have the rule to pause it immediately.
You can also raise or lower your budget and bid depending on the conversions and overall performance of an ad over long and short periods.
The Dos & Don'ts on Facebook Automated Ads
Incorporating automated Ads in your business account may seem straightforward but there are several things you would do best to avoid for the benefit of your business online. Let’s have a look at some of the dos and don'ts governing Ad automation.
- Perform A/B testing, otherwise known as split testing, on your Ads. This allows you to analyze different aspects and versions of your Ad to determine what strategies work best and modify subsequent campaigns appropriately.
- Facebook Ad photo should be nothing short of 1,200 X 628 pixels. You want your images to draw attention: something a user won’t just scroll past.
- Your target audience filter should be as precise as possible. Go beyond the usual settings based on location, language, gender, and age. If you use more detailed options like their household income per year or the kind of cars they drive, the chances are that you will get more specific results.
- Ensure that your landing page complements the design and wording of your Ad. This will make the Ad look consistent and professional.
- Visual contrast is a tool you should not be shy about implementing when it comes to Ads. Different colors and fonts are guaranteed to make your Ad stand out. You can experiment with different styles to see which one fits your content best.
- If you are a beginner at Facebook Ads, it is best to set your daily budget at least five times as much as your bid.
- Try to make your call to action as strong and as clear as possible. Ambiguous and misleading calls may get you a bit of attention at first but you want to establish yourself as a straightforward and honest brand.
- There are no limits when it comes to putting your products out there. Do not limit yourself to featuring product features only. You can use images, GIFs, and even videos to engage customers and better showcase your product's benefits.
- Swap long copy for short and concise descriptions. You may be tempted to include every detail about your product in the Ad copy but we assure you that no one wants to read long paragraphs, especially if it's in an Ad. Choose your words wisely so that you can relay the most vital information in just a few words.
- The higher the bid, the bigger the results. Low bids may seem economical but your Ad will reach a limited number of people and translate to limited returns.
- You should target new groups of people that you feel could benefit from your product and not the ones that are already buying from you.
- Test all your Ad sets and Ads. Don’t just presume that they are working well because if you are wrong, a simple test could save you a significant amount of spend that could have otherwise gone to waste.
Winning Facebook Automated Rules
a) Pause Underperforming Ad Sets and Ads
Pausing underperforming Ads is most probably the easiest rule in Facebook Automation and the most immediate in terms of bringing value. However, most advertisers are usually conflicted about the moment when one is certain that an Ad is not performing as intended. Is it too early maybe? If you pause an Ad too early, it may not have gotten enough time to produce results and if you wait too long to pause it, you may suffer irrecoverable losses. Here are some of the reasons why advertisers pause Ads.
Absence of Sales After a Significant Spend
For example, the maximum CPA you are willing to spend is $56.65. you can pause an Ad if it has already spent that amount without resulting in a single sale. However, it might be best to give your Ad some time to work its magic before cutting it off. The recommended maximum is about one and a half times your maximum CPA, which in this case is about $85. This is what your automated rule will look like.
This formula comes in handy when determining whether to pause an Ad because of a high CPA or pricey Add-to-Cart. These features may be an early indication of a problem with your Ad.
Ad Sets with Deteriorating Performance
This rule is commonly used to pause Ad Sets that have spent a significant amount of money with very few sales and an exorbitantly high CPA. Automated rules only allow “and” combinations. This means that you cannot do away with a rule if it has met at least one condition.
Checking Sudden Decline in Performance
You can monitor both short- and long-term performance trends using two-time frames. For instance, you can compare the CPA in the last four days to the last week.
These checks are quite essential especially if you are spending a huge budget on your Ad sets or have had a high number of conversions. You can check recent performance to determine whether an ad that was running smoothly has recently started lagging.
This search is not only open to purchase events but also lead, install, click, and initiated checkout. You can choose any event and use it to gauge your Ad performance.
Pausing Ad Sets with Inadequate ROAS
ROAS tracking comes in handy especially if you manage an eCommerce enterprise in which quantities and prices vary or a mobile application with yearly and monthly subscription plans. You should have a preset minimum ROAS if you plan on using this monitoring method in automated rules. The general rule is to have a minimum ROAS of 3 if you do not have a target at the time.
You can choose to pause an Ad Set if you have spent more than 70 USD with a ROAS of below 3. This basically means that your ad set will be paused if it has spent over $70 and not attained the minimum purchase revenue of $210.
For mobile apps, you can outsource other providers for Facebook Ad tools who allow such comparison because Facebook is yet to incorporate such conditions in their rules.
b) Relaunch Ad Sets and Ads with Late Conversions
Variations are often witnessed when it comes to the conversion time for customers. An Ad set may have no purchases now, you pause it, then it records several conversions after a couple of days.
If your automated rules cause an ad set to be paused prematurely or you do so manually, you can relaunch it easily from your automated rules.
You use a rule that restarts a paused ad set after it records a CPA below $50 in 12 hours. Ad sets that have been paused longer than 12 hours may lose essential optimization data and cease to function properly. As such, you might want to restart it as an entirely new set.
Restart Ad Sets
For instance, one of your automated rules runs a check on the daily criterion and turns off ad sets whose CPA is too high. The Ad might be having what we call a bad day. You may want to restart it as soon as possible especially if it has had a good run in the last 7 days.
This rule will protect your automated rules from suffering a potentially catastrophic blunder.
You can program a custom routine for this rule so that it runs at midnight by using advanced Facebook Ad tools like TrustAds. It is essential to check all your pause and relaunch rules to make sure that they don't contradict each other.
c) Increase Budgets for Top Performing Campaigns and Ad Sets
Temporarily turning off underperforming campaigns and investing more in those that are giving excellent results comes naturally to most entrepreneurs. This concept is very similar to the pause rule.
Increase Spend on Good Days
This automated rule will increase the budget on a specific day when the ad set is doing good. In this rule, that means the ad set has recorded over two purchases with a CPA below $30. You might consider setting a condition time before 12 pm for your scaling rules. This ensures that the change to your budget is not implemented when the day is spent.
Raise Budget Based on Performance
You can have different rules for good and exceptionally great metrics with settings to raise the budget appropriately.
For example, if your maximum CPA is $40, you can program an automated rule that will raise the budget for an ad set with good performance. The rule will raise the budget by 20% once on a day where the ad set has recorded more than five purchases with a CPA below 40$ and above $20.
This is what the rule looks like on your automated rule creator:
However, you may find that you have an excellent ad set whose CPA is below $20, in which case you will want to raise your investment in it. You can create a different rule for ad sets with a CPA of under $20.
In this case, the rule would function alongside the preceding one to raise the budget reasonably for ad sets performing well and significantly for those performing tremendously. These rules ensure that you take advantage of every opportunity you get without having to check every few minutes. You may want to wait until you have a significant number of conversions before raising the budget.
You can also use these rules for ROAS. You can include an option that raises the budget only when half of your daily budget has already been spent.
d) Bid Management
Facebook optimizes your bid to provide the lowest available cost for results. You can also include target costs or a bid cap to control your cost per metric.
Raise Bid for Ads with Low Impressions
This rule increases a bid if it is too low for your ad to get into the auction. It raises the bid by $ 0.5 after 2 hours as long as the impressions for that period are below 100.
It is essential to set your daily budget five times more than your bid cap so you can get at least 50 optimization metrics a week.
Raise Bid to Benefit Ads with Excellent Impressions
If you have spotted an ad that is performing exceptionally well, you can make it a priority in the action by raising the bid for that particular Ad.
The rule is: Raise Ad bid by $0.25 once per day if the CPA for that day is below $10 with two or more purchases or a CPA below the set amount.
e) Duplicate Ad Sets and Ads
Marketers especially use this tactic to automate the relaunch of paused ad sets and horizontal scaling. This rule scales your campaign by reproducing successful ads. You can duplicate an ad set once in a lifetime if it has spent more than $100 with purchases and a CPA below $50.
You can duplicate a paused ad set by creating a rule that specifically applies to inactive ad sets and duplicates them once in a lifetime before 12 pm. Be sure to restart paused ads in a reproduced ad set.
f) Key Metrics to Measure
- The number of conversation rates based on the number of people who have signed up for your offer, the sales you've made, and the number of clicks on links to your site.
- The frequency with which your ad has been displayed to a regular user
- The amount of money spent from your budget alongside Return on Ad Spend (ROAS)
- Cost per click
- Click-through rate – the number of people who click on your website after seeing an ad.
- Cost per action
Facebook Ad Automation might as well be the best thing to ever happen to social media advertising. Marketers can choose specific metrics, their conditions, and automated actions for optimum results. This level of sophistication uses audience targeting, creative ad creation, and elaborate strategies to ensure you get the most out of your ad plan. We hope that the tips we have provided herein were helpful.